What are Zodiac Signs?

Zodiac Signs are 12 equal divisions of 30° in the sky which are named after the name of constellation they occupy. These are also known as horoscope signs. In vedic astrology (Indian astrology) zodiac signs are known as Rashis. The point 0° at vernal equinox where Sun enters Aries sign on 21st march (approximate) every year is considered as the starting point of 12 zodiac signs.

Zodiac Signs and Astrology

Zodiac Signs are integral part of astrology that tells about the personality of an individual while astrology is a science that deals with making predictions for past, present and future events of an individual life and worldly affairs. Astrology is a complex system that needs deep knowledge of various astrological calculations, tools, elements and vast experience in real life predictions making. Combination of zodiac signs and astrology with intution can achieve great accuracy in making predictions.

Which is Your Zodiac Sign?

Finding your zodiac sign is not a mountain climbing task. You can easily find your zodiac sign, by making use of your date of birth, from the set of dates given below which are dates when Sun enters and leaves a particular zodiac sign every year. For example, if you are born between march 21 to april 19, then your zodiac sign is aries. Similarly, you can find zodiac sign for any birth date.

Are you here to know your zodiac sign? The 12 zodiac signs in correct order starting from aries are given below with their corresponding zodiac dates:

  1. ARIES: March 21 - April 19
  2. TAURUS: April 20 - May 20
  3. GEMINI: May 21 - June 20
  4. CANCER: June 21 - July 22
  5. LEO: July 23 - August 22
  6. VIRGO: August 23 - September 22
  7. LIBRA: September 23 - October 22
  8. SCORPIO: October 23 - November 21
  9. SAGITTARIUS: November 22 - December 21
  10. CAPRICORN: December 22 - January 19
  11. AQUARIUS: January 20 - February 18
  12. PISCES: February 19 - March 20

Dates given above are based on tropical system of astrology which is used by most of the western astrologers. These are not the exact dates but are approximate when Sun transits in these zodiac signs every year.

Four Elements of Zodiacs

All the 12 Zodiac Signs are divided into four elements which represent distinct type of energy. These four elements are Fire, Air, Water and Earth. These energies define the character, nature and thinking of the individual.

FIRE SIGNS: Aries, Leo and Sagittarius are Fire Signs. These are energetic, passionate, adventurus, creative and physically strong signs.
EARTH SIGNS: Taurus, Virgo and Capricorn are Earth Signs. These are down to earth, practical, loyal and trustable signs.
AIR SIGNS: Gemini, Libra and Aquarius are Air Signs. These are social, communicative, intellectual, friendly and philosphical signs.
WATER SIGNS: Cancer, Scorpio and Pisces are Water Signs. These are reserved, very emotional and sensitive signs. These are mysterious and intutive too.

Three Modalities (Qualities)

12 Zodiac Signs are divided into three groups of qualities called three Modalities:-
CARDINAL: Aries, Cancer, Libra and Capricorn are cardinal signs. These are action oriented and dynamic.
FIXED: Taurus, Leo, Scorpio and Aquarius are fixed signs. These are inflexible, resistant to change.
MUTABLE: Gemini, Virgo, Sagittarius and Pisces are mutable signs. These are flexible and adaptable.

The Rulers of Zodiac Signs

All the Zodiac Signs are ruled by a planet which is called its ruler. This ruler planet have strongest affect on the Sign that it rules over. Position of zodiac ruler in the birth horoscope chart put great impact on personality of the individual.
Aries is ruled by Mars,
Taurus is ruled by Venus,
Gemini is ruled by Mercury,
Cancer is ruled by Moon,
Leo is ruled by Sun,
Virgo is ruled by Mercury,
Libra is ruled by Venus,
Scorpio is co-ruled by Pluto and Mars,
Sagittarius is ruled by Jupiter,
Capricorn is ruled by Saturn,
Aquarius co-ruled by Uranus and Saturn,
Pisces is co-ruled by Neptune and Jupiter.